Happy New Year!

On New Year’s Day, Rocketman and I ventured out to a Buddhist Temple to take some pictures.  I love visiting the temples because they are so beautiful and they fascinate me to no end.  This one was right in the middle of Paldalmun.  I thought it was the perfect place to reflect on the 2011 and our hopes for 2012.

                                     How can you past by an entrance like that?

                                                  Even the roofing is beautiful.

                                      This one had quite a few steps to navigate.

I saw these two woman come up to this statue (I’m not sure what it is) and begin to walk around it again and again.  I have no idea what that was all about.  I do often see people in the temple areas bowing with their hands together like in prayer.

                                                              I could look at this all day.

                    Everything about it was magical and I couldn’t help smiling as I took it all in.

                                                Even the doors make me sigh.

I was trying to figure out what the sponges were for bu they were very near two huge plastic garbage cans that smelled of rotten food so it might be where they do their dishes.

I love, love, love this.  I wish Rocketman could do this to our windows back home.  I love the nabi (butterfly) hardware.

                            I wondered when they ring the bell.  It was enormous.

If you are lucky, you might see a monk.  Some speak English and I have met several during my visits to different temples throughout South Korea.
And if you are really lucky, maybe he will invite you in. 
This is my schedule for January.  I picked up another class with Nan-Young, my chilbo teacher.  I going to learn how to make hanji people from the artist who was at the hanji exhibition the other week.  I heard from my hanji teacher a long time ago that it is very, very difficult but I’m excited to see what I can learn.  If it wasn’t for Seollal (Lunar New Year) January 22-24th, I would have classes then too.
It will be a very busy month and the movers are coming the 27th.  We will stay in Seoul for a few days and fly back to the States, February 1st.  It means the end to my Korean lessons but not the end to my Korean crafting.  It will continue back in the States.  Rocketman will also have trips back for work and I’m sure I’ll be tagging along on the ones that included Korea.  This won’t be my last time in Korea.

One Response to “Happy New Year!”

  1. Helena Says:

    I love the first photo!

Leave a comment